• Sylhet Division

Sylhet Division is additionally famous as Generous  Sylhet, the north-eastern division of Bangladesh, named once its main town, Sylhet. it’s border with Bharat like the Meghalaya, Assam and Tripura states of Bharat to the north, east and south, severally  and by the Bangladesh divisions of Chittagong to the southwest and Dacca to the west.

Sylhet is taken into account together of the foremost archaeologically engaging regions in South Asia, and has many Muslim Sufi shrines and Hindu holy sites. It’s economy has been contributed to the regional attractions of landscapes stuffed with scented orange and pineapple gardens and tea plantations. several Sylhet community members ar operating and living in foreign, in the main within the uk. They send remittances to fund comes and industries within the Sylhet Division, that have enlarged the export trade and foreign investment sectors.

Sylhet Division

It is believed that Sylhet was Associate in Nursing enlarged industrial centre since the traditional amount, that defines its actual mortal. At that point, Sylhet was maybe populous by Indo-Aryan Brahmins, although ethnically the population would additionally enclosed Mongoloids, Dravidians of geographical area, Arabs, Persians and Turks. it’s additionally been sophisticated that the traditional Kingdom of Harikela was settled in gift fashionable Sylhet.

In 1995, Sylhet was proclaimed because the sixth division of the country. Before that it had been a district of the Chittagong Division. The Sylhet Division is split into four districts: Habiganj, Moulvibazar, Sunamganj and Sylhet. Again, the Sylhet Division is incorporates thirty five Upazilas, 323 Union Parishads, 10,185 Villages and fourteen Municipalities. Population is close to concerning ten million.


  1. Habiganj was established in the year 1984 and area was about  2,536.58
  2. Moulvibazar was established in the year 1984 and area was about 2,601.84
  3. Sunamganj was established in the year 1984 and area was about 3,669.58
  4. Sylhet was established in the year 1775 and area was about  3,490.40

Total area of Sylhet division is about 12,298.4

Facebook Comments